Wow. What a question. It’s one I get asked a lot, but it’s one of the hardest to answer. I have favorite adult books, favorite nonfiction books, favorite YA books, favorite children’s books, and favorite picture books. And that’s being pretty general. I have favorite horror novels, favorite historical fiction, favorite short stories, favorite series…need I go on??

I can list a few books that stand out as my all time favorites, they are not in any certain order because they can’t be compared to one another.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley – I’ve read this book countless times and I love finding books inspired by it. I’m a big fan of villains and antiheros so the monster is the best part of the book for me.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – this is a book that everyone should read at some point in their life. It is a masterpiece that shows the ugliness humans are capable of as well as the beauty.


Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper – You may have seen my previous post on this book. I can go on endlessly about this amazing book.


Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls – when kids ask for my favorite book, this is my go-to choice. I love it and I cry every time I read it. Also try out Summer of the Monkeys by Rawls, laugh out loud hilarious!


Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo – if Where the Red Fern Grows is too sad for you, Winn Dixie is a dog who is made to make you smile. I love to read this book aloud. I love Opal and all of her odd assortment of friends.


Wicked by Gregory Maguire-even more than The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum, I love Wicked, which gives us the back story to the wicked witch, or Elphaba, and her motivations. It’s a good reminder that wickedness depends on the point of view of the one who is telling the story.


Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll-I’ve just always loved the idea of a nonsensical world. As a person who actively tries to live outside the accepted “normal”, it sounds perfect to me.


The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams-British humor isn’t for everyone, but I keep recommending it anyway. My favorite quote: “There is an art to flying, or rather a knack. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss. … Clearly, it is this second part, the missing, that presents the difficulties.”

So there you have a few of my favorites. I realize I have a whole year of posts to make so there will be plenty of time later to do more specialized lists, which means, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

