I’m reading a fabulous book right now called Finding Serendipity by Angelica Banks. Without giving you too many spoilers, it’s the first adventure of Tuesday McGillycuddy. Her mother, famous writer Serendipity Smith, has gone missing and Tuesday must travel to the world within her mother’s books to rescue her.

This story has me thinking about where I would go if I could step into the world created by one of my favorite stories. 

My first choice would probably Oz.


I don’t know why, but I’ve been focused on Oz a lot lately. As I’ve mentioned before, I love the book Wicked by Gregory Maguire. This past summer I read a young adult series called Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige and that series inspired me to attempt to read all of L. Frank Baum‘s Oz stories. I’d love to go to the island of missing things and rainbow falls. I’d also love to meet the flying monkeys.

My second choice would be Wonderland.


I have always loved Alice’s nonsensical world and I long to meet the Cheshire Cat. I think I’d also enjoy meeting the Queen of Hearts and seeing her castle.

My third choice would probably be Neverland.


I’ll be honest, I’m not a huge fan of Peter Pan, but give me Captain Hook and the Lost Boys any day! I’ve read a really great spin off series called Hook’s Revenge about Captain Hook’s daughter traveling to Neverland to get revenge on the crocodile for eating her father. Incidentally, Jocelyn Hook doesn’t care for Peter a whole lot either.

Those are my top three, but there are so many more. My best friend would choose Hogwarts. Narnia would be a great destination too. Or the kingdom where Princess Sylvie lives in The Great Good Thing. I would drop everything to visit the world of Tales of a Sixth Grade Muppet-I want to visit the Muppet theater!

So, where would you go?

Leave a Reply

