It really was a binge! So many books that I had to break it into two posts. Hope you enjoy!



Gaston
by Kelly DiPucchio • what a sweet story about what it means to be a family! One of my girlfriends adores this book so I grabbed it and she was right, I loved it! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Players In Pigtails by Shana Corey • this book starts off with the full lyrics to Take Me Out To the Ball Game. Did you know they are about a girl?!? Corey tells the story of the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League that was created during World War II. I knew about the league because I’ve seen the movie A League of Their Own, but I’m glad there is a book available for kids. It was lost in the picture books but I’m going to move it to the nonfiction baseball section. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Never Spit On Your Shoes and Are There Any Questions? by Denys Cazet • these books about Arnie the 1st grader look fun, but I don’t think it would work for a read aloud. The chaos of 1st grade is shown in Arnie’s storytelling, I particularly enjoyed the little rabbit in the second book who is looking for the Spanish boy whom she apparently plans to marry. There is at least one more Arnie story, Never Poke a Squid but I don’t know if I have it at school or not.  ⭐️⭐️⭐️


Adventure Annie Goes To Work by Toni Buzzeo • Buzzeo is one of my favorite writers. Her library stories are great resources and fun read alouds.  I also read Adventure Annie Goes To Kindergarten while they are fun stories, they just aren’t what I was hoping for from this author. ⭐️⭐️⭐️


The Lonely Book by Kate Bernheimer • I think is is the best story I read today. It’s about a story book that is well loved when new and then as time goes by it finds fewer and fewer readers until the book is checked out by Alice. Alice loves the story even though it is old, the pages are torn and the last page is missing. But a mix up at the library prevents Alice from ever checking it out again. I don’t want to give away the whole story but Alice is reunited with the book and I almost cried. This story reminded me very much of The Great Good Thing by Roderick Townley, a chapter book for older kids. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a Reply

