2017 is the year of the rooster (fire rooster to be exact) and I was excited to put up displays about it at school today.


I started with my mini bulletin board a.k.a. an old flannel board. I found some great illustrations of the 12 animals of the Chinese Zodiac. I thought the kids might like to know what animal represents their birth year so I created mini posters with the years listed. I went back to the 1940s since the kids ugh the interested in their teachers’ animals too.

The next step was to find any books on the celebration for display. I only had 2 books officially about the holiday so I branched out to Chinese culture and some great Chinese-American authors like Grace Lin and Laurence Yep. I even found Good Luck Ivy in the American Girl books. I think she is friends with Julie, the girl from the 1970s.


The last step was to put out picture books with a rooster theme. Not a lot on just roosters, but why not chickens in general? I have to admit, I love me some chicken books! Here are some of my favorites:


Interrupting Chicken by David Ezra Stein is hilarious! Little Chicken promises Papa she will be quiet but it’s so hard not to warn Red Riding Hood about the Big Bad Wolf. I love reading this to kindergarten.


Chicks Run Wild by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen is another cute story. Mama should not trust those chicks to go to bed easily! I really like this author and I’d like to get more of her books.


Minerva Louise by Janet Morgan Stoeke is probably my favorite chicken. She is so naive and sweet, her stories so simple, the kids just can’t get enough. 

And now, a book I haven’t read yet but I’m sure looking forward to:


Chicken Dance by Tammi Sauer looks hilarious. Two chickens are dying to see Elvis Poultry and need to win a dance contest to get the tickets. 

I hope my displays leave you feeling a little more culturally enlightened! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

