This evening my girls had TaeKwonDo so I decided to do some reading while they were inside.

I started off with some folktales adapted by Eric A. Kimmel.

The story is similar to old stone soup stories but with a cactus thorn. This book had really gorgeous illustrations by Phil Huling.


I also read Boots and His Brothers by Kimmel.

I randomly chose a few other titles to read as well:

A very Rumplestiltskin-esque Duffy and the Devil by Harve and Margot Zemach. (That’s a Caldecott Award.)

Fat Gopal, a tale from Jacquelin Singh and illustrated by Demi (beautiful pictures!)

And finally, one of my friend Raynette’s all-time favorite books, books Jack the Giant Chaser by Kenn and Joanne Compton. This familiar story is retold with the Appalachian mountains as the setting.

Probably my favorite book of the day was Cactus Soup. I love Kimmel’s adaptations and Huling’s artwork fit the story perfectly.

Leave a Reply

