I’ve been enjoying all these old storybooks lately and they made me wonder how man I could remember from my childhood.

I am positive that we had The Color Kittens by Margaret Wise Brown. I don’t remember much about the story but I can recall flashes of the illustrations.


We had The Monster At the End of This Book starring Lovable, Furry Old Grover. I’m sure it was a Little Golden Book. I love this book so much that I bought a board book copy when my girls were little and then a Little Golden Book copy at a thrift store to use at school. I also have a video where Grover goes through the book (I can’t do the voice) and an app to use on my projection screen with the kids. I rarely bother with the second one with Elmo. He came after my time watching the show.


I loved Grover’s Book of Cute Little Baby Animals so much! My favorite part was the goats. Grover explains that goat babies are called kids and that the mama goat on the page had twin kids. I am a twin so that was the best thing ever in my book.


We didn’t own But No Elephants. It was in the doctors’ office in my hometown. I found a copy a couple years ago and added it to the school collection.


I can’t say for sure where I looked at this book. I’m leaning towards the doctors’ office, but it could have been at my grandma’s house. In Richard Scarry’s Cars and Trucks and Things That Go there is a little guy named Goldbug who hides on each page, kind of like a Where’s Waldo book. All I remember about this book is looking for Goldbug.


The Ghost of Windy Hill wasn’t mine either. We read it as a class in second grade with Mrs. Anderson (great teacher, BTW). I found a copy in a donation box at the public library and snagged it a few years ago.


The Sesame Street Pet Show was another favorite. I loved how Ernie continued to believe in his little pet even as everyone else showed how great their pets were. As an adult, I love that it has old school characters like Forgetful Jones and Sherlock Hemlock in it. I bought my daughters a copy on eBay when they were little.


I loved this book! It’s a Mystery, Charlie Brown follows Snoopy in a dapper Sherlock Holmes outfit as he tried to figure out who stole Woodstock’s nest. I was heartbroken when someone cut it up with scissors. I don’t have a copy yet, but I’m always looking.


The only childhood book I still have is The Pooh Story Book.  It survived my twin brother and I relatively unharmed. I love Pooh’s game, Pooh sticks. We used to play something similar.

Thanks for wandering down memory lane with me!

Leave a Reply

