My daughter is reading The Lightning Thief by Rick Riodan for 7th grade reading class. She actually read the series on her own in elementary school a couple of years ago, but I’ve never gotten around to reading them. When she asked me a couple of weeks ago to read The Lightning Thief I borrowed a copy from a friend right away. I try really hard to read books that kids recommend, and I always read the ines my girls ask me to.

I really enjoyed the book, Riordsn’s writing style gives the reader all the action without the super high reading level. I particularly liked when Hades was complaining about the overcrowding in the Undrworld. In movies the Gods always look and act so regal (think Liam Neeson as Zeus) but in the stories they are so flawed it’s almost laughable. I also liked how Riordan modernized the Gods and pointed out their influence on Western civilization. We don’t always think about it, but the influence is there.

I was frustrated about the version of Medusa and Poseidon in Athena’s temple. On the book she is described as his girlfriend but I was taught that it was rape. And I’ve even read that her punishment could have been viewed as an empowerment that allowed her to feel safe from future attacks. But this is a middle grade book so maybe he was making the story better suited to kids. 

I think I need to read some of the traditional stories and brush up on the Olympians. I do plan to read the whole Percy Jackson series, and knowing my OCD about series, I’ll read the Heroes of Olympus series. I know that the main character of the Magnus Chase (Asgardian or Norse Mythology) series is cousins with Annabeth (Percy’s friend) so I’ll want to read those as well. And by that time I’ll just give up resisting and read The Kane Chronicles (Egyptian Mythology) and The Trials of Apollo too. There’s no use denying it.

Just got fun, here’s a cool family tree for the Greek Gods.

Leave a Reply

