After reading The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan, I decided that I need to read more about the Greek Gods. I know a lot of myths, but I could use a refresher. I decided to start with a fun book I got in this year by Mordicai Gerstein.


Gerstein tells a lot of Pan’s history in this short graphic-novel style book, many of which I’ve never heard. I had no idea that the feeling of panic is attributed to him, and I really didn’t know that he and Echo married.

I really enjoyed the comical way Gerstein treated the Greek Gods as well.

Most of the retellings of the Greek myths…take the characters and stories quite seriously. Or they treat the gods and heroes as superheroes, telling us how great, grand, and powerful they were. But from my reading…the Olympians could also be bad-tempered, silly, jealous, vengeful, and even stupid–more like characters in a family sitcom.

At the end of The Lightning Thief, Grover gets his Searcher license to go find Pan, who has gone into hiding. I don’t think he’s left the series for good. My guess is he’ll make a reappearance or two, and maybe he’ll even find the Great God Pan.

P.S. I found some interesting illustrations of Pan online. The statues tend to show him as quite well endowed. These are a few modern interpretations that I thought were cool.

Leave a Reply

