The Easter season is upon us, so before the kids completely wipe out my Easter collection, I think I’ll share a few stories with you.

I really like Lorna Balian‘s books. I love The Aminal and Humbug Witch, and Sometimes It’s the Turkey, Sometimes It’s the Feathers is really cute. This story is bordering on weird though. The illustrations show the farm where Granny lives as well as the rabbit warren underneath.

There are almost two stories going on here–they are supposed to go together but I found them disjointed. A mischievous mouse convinces the rabbit kits that their father is the Easter Bunny, to which he replies ‘Humbug!’ The devilish cat ends up making things worse by hiding all of the painted eggs Granny has for her grandchildren in the rabbit hole. It was fun and I enjoy the humor, but I’m not sure I could explain it to kids.

I found this book on my poetry shelf. It’s full of wonderful old poems and the type of illustrations I love best. I could not find any images online, thank goodness my phone has a camera!

Another oldie but goodie is The Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes. 

This story is about a little brown country bunny who wants to be one of the five Easter bunnies. She is told not to be silly and ends up growing up to have a family.

I love that line: “then one day, much to her surprise there were twenty-one Cottontail babies to take care of.” Really, she was surprised? I’ve been pregnant and I’d darn sure know if I was pregnant with 21 babies!

Anyway, being a mother makes the country bunny wise, kind, swift and brave. These qualities are rewarded by Grandfather Bunny making her a Gold Shoe Easter Bunny. Her special shoes allow her to deliver the most beautiful eggs to an ill child as still make it home to her kits before they wake.

My last two books are by Patricia Polacco: Rechenka’s Eggs and Chicken Sunday. 

Rechenka’s Eggs is a sweet Babushka story where kindness is repayed with magic. 
Babushka takes in a wounded goose and in return the goose, as well as an apology for breaking the eggs Babushka made, repays with beautiful Pysanky eggs. The final egg holds a great treasure but you’ll have to read it to find out what. Here is an example of Pysanky eggs:

Chicken Sunday also has Pysanky eggs. 


Young Patricia and her two friends want to buy the boys’ Grandma an Easter hat. Through no fault of their own, the children are blamed for egging the hat store owned by an old Jewish immigrant. The kids decide to show him that they are good kids. Patricia teaches them to make Pysanky eggs as a gift for the store owner. He encourages the kids to sell them to make money and then gives them the hat for Grandma.

I hope I’ve given you an idea of some books to try out this last two weeks before Easter!

Leave a Reply

