I was shelving today when I came across The Story About Ping, by Marjorie Flack.

I’m pretty sure it’s considered a classic, though I’d never read it before. This story was written in 1933! My copy is not that old, it’s a beautiful newish one, so I don’t have to agonize about taking it off of my shelves. I liked this cute story. Ping and his family swim every day in the Yangtze River and at the end of the day, the last duck back on the boat gets a spanking. So rather than be spanked, Ping doesn’t get on the boat and realizes too late that the boat has sailed away. He finds his family in the end, and is okay with a spanking, because he’s finally home.

The artwork is okay, but standards were different in 1933. These pictures may be considered racist today.

While looking for illustrations from the book  online, the Google search recommended The Story of Ferdinand as a similar title.

I’m not sure I’ve ever read this book, but I’ve seen a Disney short of it, so I grabbed the book and read it. The copyright is 1934, so roughly the same staying power as Ping.

I liked this sweet story about a gentle giant better. Ferdinand is a calm calf who loves to sit under a tree smelling flowers instead of butting heads with the other little bulls.


He grows up to be a beautiful bull but remains true to himself even after a misunderstanding has him selected for the bull fights.

I loved the black and white illustrations in this book, they are just gorgeous! I am glad he was not forced to really fight in the bull fights because those bulls do not get to have happy endings.

I love these old books and I love the simplicity in the stories. Modern books make me smile too but in a different way. I’m glad to celebrate both.

5 thoughts on “Ping and Ferdinand

  1. Ferdinand is one of my favorites! Theres a farm nearby that looks just like Ferdinands and his cork tree. We laugh when one of the bulls or cows is sitting under it when we drive by 😂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not sure! It’s just a big tree that looks similar. We don’t have them either! I’m guessing since they are in Madrid, it’s more from that region 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Lol! Yeah I have no clue 😂 I guess cork has to come from somewhere. The pulp of a cork tree is as good a place as any!

        Like

Leave a Reply

