This year for Lent, I gave up thrift stores. I know it seems silly, but it was a struggle because it’s something I truly love. I have a few coping mechanisms that aren’t healthy – like stress eating and picking at my finger nails. Going to a thrift store and walking around in my own private world, whether I buy anything or not, is very therapeutic for me.

So today when my daughter came out wearing shorts that were too short, I suggested a trip to Goodwill. She found a bunch of good shorts that were long enough (why do they make them so short??) I took time to go through the kids’ books and found three I thought I needed at school. 

As I’ve mentioned before, biographies are big at my school, and Jane Goodall is popular with the girls. This is a paperback but at 75¢ I think it’s a good deal.

The American Girl series has been exceptionally popular with my 4th grade girls this year. They especially love these short stories.  Originally, I only had a few of the Kirsten stories but one of my best friends (a librarian at another elementary) gave me some she had, stories from Addy, Josefina, Molly and Felicity. We found Again, Josefina! for just 75¢.

The find I was most excited about today is King Bidgood’s In the Bathtub. This Caldecott Honor book is by Audrey and Don Wood, came with the dust jacket in perfect condition and a sealed CD with six original songs about the story. Not bad for $1.00.

The One That Got Away

There was one book I really thought about but ended up leaving behind:

The one in this picture is not even as nice as the ine I looked at.  I wanted it, but I have two sets of illustrated classics that get passed over too often already, so I left it for someone else. 

I’ve never read Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm, so I didn’t want it for myself, but maybe if I bought it I’d have read it and loved it. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

