On April 25, 1719–198 years and 1 day ago–Daniel Defoe published Robinson Crusoe.

I’m guilty of skipping this classic until now. Yesterday, when I saw the day’s “This Day In History” calendar, I decided it was time to read the book. Since my library is only K-4, I don’t have the original version. I do, however, have the Great Illustrated Classics version. I was able to read it in a couple of hours.

Maybe it was because of the condensed version, but I felt like the story skipped ahead very quickly and I’m confused why he waited so long to do some major things, like exploring the island?!?

I was also disappointed in the way that Friday came into the story. I love that Robinson rescued him but the idea that Friday would immediately swear himself to life-long slavery just grates against my nerves. Why didn’t he tell Robinson his given name? And what kind of egomaniac longs for a companion, finds one, and then teaches him to call him “Master”?

I get that Defoe was a product of a very different time but I struggle with the storyline. I’ve read other Great Illustrated Classics and they were some of the best books I’ve ever read. As a kid I read Swiss Family Robinson, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hide, The Time Machine, The War of the Worlds Sherlock Holmes and Journey To the Center of the Earth. I’ve read the complete version of many of these as an adult and as no complaint with how the condensing was done. That makes me think that my complaint is with Defoe, not Great Illustrated Classics.

Before you write me off as a the worst book nerd ever, I want you to know I’ve read Defoe before. I really enjoyed Moll Flanders. That poor girl was a hot mess. She’s got a great story though. So for my money, I’d recommend Moll over Robinson any day.

Leave a Reply

