I promise, I haven’t forgotten that it’s National Children’s Book Week, I just didn’t have the right books at home to blog about for the 1st. One of the most frustrating things I hear kids say is that they don’t like to read, but thankfully, I can fix that.

The little girl in this story just doesn’t get Miss Brooks. How can she love books so much? And why does she dress up for story time?

Miss Brooks wants her students to get as excited about books as she does. She even lets them pick a story to share for Book Week in May. But what do you do when you’re the kid who hates books?

I asked my mother if we can move to a new town. My mother says there’s a librarian in every town.

Miss Brooks refuses to let the little girl give up and sends home stacks and stacks of books to read, but all the books are too kissy, too pink and too silly. But then she finds Shrek! by William Steig. He’s got hair on his nose and warts!


Kids who say they don’t like to read just haven’t found the it book for them. It’s out there and the best part of a librarian’s job is helping them find it. Happy Children’s Book Week!

If you enjoyed Miss Brooks Loves Books (and I don’t), check out the companion book:

Leave a Reply

