Great new books come out all the time, but as much as I’d love to have them instantly, I often have to wait. Sometimes I’m waiting for the release date, sometimes I’m waiting for the shipment to arrive and (the worst) is waiting for my yearly budget to renew. Here are a few I am anxiously awaiting…,

I have to wait for next school year to order the newest installment in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series by MaryRose Wood. This is book 5 of a series where each book unlocks secrets but then throws more at you. Where are the Incorrigibles’ parents? Are they Miss Lumley’s parents as well? Are they related to the Ashton’s? They are addictive!

In case you weren’t aware, dragons love tacos, but hate spicy salsa! Adam Rubin is the creator of these hilarious books, but I’ve heard that in the sequel, the tacos have gone missing! What’s a dragon to do?!?


We’ve talked about Sophie in another post, but I have to say it again: I can’t wait to see the little squashes go to school!!

Mo Willems is one of the greatest children’s authors of all time. I’d go so far as to rank him up there with Dr. Seuss. This new book looks so fun and it’s refreshing to see books about characters other than just the Pigeon and Elephant and Piggie. I love them, don’t get me wrong, but Willems must have tons of great characters stored away in his head that I’d love to meet.

Technically, I already have Real Friends by Shannon Hale, but I have to wait for my daughter to read it first. The cataloging inside (recommended by the publisher) says it’s a nonfiction graphic novel memoir of Hale’s childhood. I felt it would circulate better in Fiction. From the peak inside that I got the other day, it frankly talks about the way kids become friends and how friendships change. I don’t think it will hurt any girls to find out from a book that not all friends are true friends–so much better Han learning it the hard way.

Liesl Shurtliff’s books are fantastic! I loved her first book Rump: the true story of Rumplestiltskin, and the follow up, Jack: the true story of the Beanstalk.  Red is Rump’s best friend so I’ve been wanting a book about her for 4 years!

Leave a Reply

