I love history but I also love science. The good news is that with today’s book, I don’t have to choose, I can have both!

Shocking Science by Steve Parker and illustrated by John Kelly wasa Thrift Store Score the other day. It’s subtitle is 5,000 years of mishaps and misunderstandings. It’s not lying. Parker  manages to cover a huge amount of scientific history in a concise and humorous manner. 

Topics in the book span creation theories, world exploration, space travel, fossils, invasive species, alchemy, engineering failures, medicine and accidents that led to great discoveries. These aren’t all the topics, only about half. Each topic gets a two-page layout with 5 to 6 paragraphs that discuss the topic from different times and parts of the world.

I’m glad I found this book. I’m wondering if it was part if a set. A lot of nonfiction books are published with half a dozen books linked by a similar theme. I’ll have to look this one up.

Leave a Reply

