Yes, Captain Underpants is on many kid’s radar this summer, as the beloved series finally makes its way to the big screen. But this post is not about Captain Underpants. It’s about the plethora of underwear themed picture books that exist solely to make our children giggle.

Go ahead, get it out of your system. You know it makes you giggle too. Underpants!

This is the newest book in Claire Freedman’s smash-hit underpants series. We’ve seen that Aliens Love Underpants, Aliens Love Panta Clause, Dinosaurs Love Underpants, Monsters Love Underpants, Pirates Love Underpants and now, Aliens Love Dinopants. The kids love these books, and they are wonderfully silly.

I love this book, and it isn’t one that kids would find on their own. Rabbit finds a red hat one day and despite being told he’s wrong about how to wear it, he still wears it and sets a fashion trend. But I have to point out, the hat has two perfect ear-holes!


Todd Doodler’s books are fun. The school’s copy of Bear In Underwear has a cover with cushion tighty-whiteys on bear. Too cute. This book is popular enough that he has created a good sized series of these funny and simple books.

This is another Todd Doodler, but I don’t think it has any follow ups.


Jane Chapman’s Vegetables In Underwear has irresistible artwork in it. Simple illustrations can say so much. I’m excited to see there is a follow up called Fruits In Suits. It’s on my shopping list.

I read this one to my daughter more than once as a kid. It made her laugh hysterically to see that the terrible underpants had holes in them.

While looking for these covers, I was shocked at how many underwear-themed picture books are out on the market. I had to make myself stop, I can’t show you them all, but here are a few that look fun:

Oh! I love Lynn Munsingers’s illustrations!

By the way, I’m pretty sure I passed the 150 day mark on this 365 day challenge on May 30th. Go me!

Leave a Reply

