Whenever kids ask if I believe that unicorns are real, I always answer, “Well, I don’t know. I’ve never met one, but when do see one, I’ll ask him if he’s real or imaginary.” This also works with Bigfoot, dragons and aliens. Granted, the kids think I’m wacko, but that’s par for the course.

Reading unicorns to a class can be difficult. Boys are sure it’s a “girly” book before you even start. But I do read them and I don’t regret it.

This sweet story by Amy Krouse Rosenthal is about the power of believing. Uni is a unicorn that believes with all of her heart that little girls are real, even though the other unicorns say they are imaginary.

Kids (even boys) love when a story flips around on them. They are so positive they know how it’s going to go, that when they hear the actual story it blows their minds.

So after I’ve broken the ice with Uni, I like to read Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great by Bob Shea. Shea’s books are hilarious! Goat tries so hard but there’s this new guy, Unicorn, and he keeps showing Goat up. How do you compete with the ability to make it rain cupcakes?!? Goat finds out though, that Unicorn isn’t a bad guy and he thinks Goat is pretty awesome too. This is a 5 star book for me!

It seems like the awesomest pet ever, but Ame Dyckman is sure we’d regret adopting a unicorn. Sadly, some lessons have to be learned the hard way.

The humor in this book will make kids up to age 100 giggle. This is my favorite reason not to adopt a unicorn.

Kelp is not quite like the other narwhals. He tries keep up, and for the most part, the other narwhals help him have a great life under the sea. Until one day he goes to the surface and sees a creature that looks just like him, but on land! Ultimately he must decide, is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? 

This story reminded me of Kelly DiPucchio’s book Gaston. Sometimes it isn’t how we look that determines who we are. I really liked the endpapers of this book.

So, as you can see, there are some great unicorn stories that aren’t just for girls and have great lessons in them. I hope you believe enough to give them a try.

Leave a Reply

