Today my husband surprised me at Wal-Mart. My older daughter and I had stopped to look at something and when we caught up to him, he handed me this hardback book, marked down to $5.97!

Alice In Wonderland is one of my all-time favorite books, and it’s by Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked.

Wicked is followed by three other books, but I need to read the last in the series. Honestly, I didn’t need the other books to be written. Elphaba’s story was what I really wanted.


I have read and enjoyed some of his fractured fairytales though. I loved Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister and Mirror, Mirror wasn’t bad.


I was completely shocked when the narrator’s identity was revealed at the end of Stepsister. Mirror references the Medici family in medieval Italy.


I have not yet read Hiddensee but I think it’s a retelling of The Nutcracker.

I did not enjoy Lost as much as I had hoped. The blurb on the book says it’s a ghost story with Jack the Ripper, but it just didn’t work for me.

Maguire also has numerous children’s titles. I’ve read Matchless, which is a take on Hans Christian Anderson’s Little Match Girl.

I would like to read What the Dickens which is about a tooth fairy gone rogue. There are other children’s titles, but I’m not familiar enough with them to share them.

I hope I’ve peaked your interest in this great author. He uses beloved stories and creates amazing alternative storylines for them. I have not read his works in a few years, since I don’t have any of his titles at school and my favorites by him are adult titles. I need to make more time for adult works.

Leave a Reply

