One of my personal rules is to always read the book before I see the movie adaptation. Of course, as a kid, I didn’t have such strict rules. The book/movies I’m talking about today were ones I saw first and read later.

The point of the post is really about how film adaptations never really do the books justice. These three examples, which I learned about while reading on Listverse, are instances where the authors were terribly unhappy with the movies based on their books.

It might seem like I’m contradicting myself with this first one, because just yesterday I was telling you how much I loved this movie:

But author Roald Dahl was very unhappy with the movie. It’s sad that something so iconic wasn’t a shining moment for the author.

I had no idea that The Neverending Story was a book, but it was one of the most amazing things I saw as a child.


Author Michael Ende despised the movie and spent a fortune in court costs trying to stop the production. I own this movie and I want my girls to see it. It meant a lot to me and my friends. I’m sure Ende wanted to touch the hearts of children more than anything, so maybe it worked out after all.


I have not read Mary Poppins yet. It’s on that 4-mile-long list of books to read that I keep. I have seen the movie though:


I enjoyed the story, and I love Julie Andrews, but P.L. Travers hated everything about it. I don’t want to seem like a hater, but it seems like Disney versions of anything are too cutesy and sweet, it’s not a stretch to see why Travers was so upset about the movie.

There are plenty of other instances where books have been turned into movies in a terrible way. I really dislike when actors are chosen who look nothing like the character is described, and I can’t deal with two minor characters being combined. Don’t change the ending either! Wow, this is becoming a rant. I guess the authors aren’t the only ones who feel strongly on this.

Leave a Reply

