Roald Dahl is one of the greatest children’s authors of all times. Almost every one of us has either read or seen a film adaptation of his works. I prefer to read his books with the perfect illustrations by Quentin Blake. 

I read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator as a kid. To this day, I can sing almost all the words to every song in the Gene Wilder version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. It’s not as true to the book as it could be, but it’s a wonderful piece of my childhood. The snozzberries taste like snozzberries! 

I remember our school librarian reading The Twits to us, and it’s so horribly wonderful, I read it every year to third grade.

As an adult, I read James and the Giant Peach and The BFG. I wish I had read them as a kid!


I have not read nearly enough of his works, though. I need to read Matilda and The Fantastic Mr. Fox still.

I also enjoy his poetry, specifically Revolting Rhymes

My two favorite stories in this collection of fractured fairytales are Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf and The Three Little Pigs. I always read them together. Red Riding Hood is a forward thinking young woman and takes care of the wolf problem with a concealed weapon. So it makes perfect sense for the pigs to call her in when they have their own wolf problems. I’m not going to tell you how it ends, it’s too fabulous to spoil. Go borrow a copy and find out for yourself!

As a final note, check out this amazing collection my mother-in-law gave me for my birthday years ago:

Leave a Reply

