Today is my daughter’s 13th birthday, and in honor of that, I want to share her two most favorite childhood books.

When she was 3 we borrowed Shel Silverstein’s The Missing Piece from the library. Something about Silverstein’s simplistically drawn pictures and the words of the story hooked her. We read it every night and she memorized it. Her favorite part to say was this:

After discovering her love for this book, we decided to try The Missing Piece Meets the Big O.

She didn’t latch on to it quite as much as the first, but I bought copies of both for our private collection anyway. I plan to save those copies and give them to her kids when she grows up (I don’t want to think of it!….)

It’s obvious to most adult readers that Silverstein’s message was about relationships and what we expect from our partners in life. I doubt kids see that, or at least understand it the way adults do.

I am so happy to share something that brought her so much joy on her special day. I hope you have a young one to share it with too.

Leave a Reply

