‘‘Twas the Night Before Thanksgiving

Today my first graders and I enjoyed some silly turkey books and I wanted to share one by Dav Pilky with you.

I pointed out that Pilky is the author of the very popular Captain Underpants books, which all of my students seem interested in. One little boy did tell me that he wasn’t allowed to have a ‘bad’ book with underpants in it. I had to reply that I didn’t think there were any underpants on the turkeys in our story today.

The story is written to parody the famous C. Clement Moore poem, A Visit From St. Nicholas. The kids get on the bus and head off for a field trip the day before Thanksgiving.

(The teacher appears to be a daredevil driver, the wheels aren’t even touching the ground, and a wheelie?!?!)

The are off to visit Farmer Mack Nugget at his turkey farm.

He has names for the turkeys like Wally, Beaver, Shemp and Groucho. The kids of course fall in love with these fluffy turkeys.

For some reason the farmer doesn’t pause to consider the consequences of telling the kids that the turkeys will be the holiday dinner the next day. Cue the crying emotionally scarred children. The farmer and teacher turn their backs momentarily and the kids take matters into their own hands.

These ingenious kids sneak the turkeys away and while they do make it to the Thanksgiving tables of the kids’ families, they come as guests.

Needless to say, the kids loved 💕 this story. Okay, I did too.

Leave a comment